Confession: I don’t like hugs.

According to Gary Chapman, author of “The 5 Love Languages,” I am not the only one who dislikes hugs.

Another confession: This has negatively affected my children.

Gary Chapman explains that we all “speak love” to each other in different ways:

Words of Affirmation, Physical Touch, Quality Time, Acts of Service, and Gifts.

We tend to speak our love language to others, even when they do not interpret it as love.

We also try to, (and need to), receive love in the same way we speak it.

Wouldn’t it be great if babies entered the world with a little sticky note with their love language on it?  When we meet someone new, we tell them our name AND the love language we speak?

Well, here goes – my name is Annette, and my love language is Words of Affirmation.

I tell all of my kids that I love them, everyday.  I go on and on about how great they are, and how much I believe in them, and that I support them.  None of them speak this language.  One even tells me to stop, and gives me an eye roll!

Two of them hear me speak with hugs, one with gifts, and the other with quality time.

This is one of the most difficult lessons I’ve learned, and hopefully not too late.

Thankfully, I’m eager and determined to learn a few new languages. Quickly!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s